Hello All...

Rep. Day

Hello All, my name is David and I am new to the world of saltwater. Matter of fact, I am going to pick up my live rock this week now that the temp. and salt are stabalized. I am sure I will be asking tons of questions as I venture into this. I have messed with freshwater for years and finally got the nerve to go salt!

A little about me, I live in central Missouri. I am a farmer/rancher and also serve as the State Rep. in the Capitol for the 148th Dist. That pretty much takes up all of my time and fish are how I relax I guess.

Anyway, it is great to be here. I have read quite a bit and decided to join in.

Look forward to getting to know you and hope to learn from the advice of others.

Dave

DrHank

Welcome Dave! Sounds like a plan. Let us know about your tank equipment and plans when you get a chance. Just remember, the slower you go, generally, the safer you'll be. Let us know how we can help.

Rep. Day

Right now it is pretty much nothing. I have a 55 gal that was freshwater. I have a Sea Clone 100 Skimmer (just hooked it up), Aqua-Tech filter that hangs off of the back and is supposed to take care of up to 60 gal., 200 w. heater with a extra 50 w backup heater, and a Maxi-Jet 1200 to move the water around some.

The salt has been added and tests at 1.022 and I have the temp. stabalized at 78. I am going to pick up my live rocks this week (getting 50lbs) and will add the live sand at the same time.

My goal is a community, fish only tank. It was suggested to me that might be a good starting place.

One question, I have 2 24inch floresent bulbs that came with the tank some time back, what kind of bulbs do I need to get to replace them with? I think they are just each 10w bulbs.

Thanks, great to be here!

Dave

Dentoid

Smile Maker
PREMIUM