Anyone need anything made out of pyrex?

BigJay

I am a general contractor by day and a glass blower at night. I made a bunch of stands and glass jacks for propping the live rock in my tank out of labratory grade pyrex of which I then sandblasted to give them lots of surface area.
Got to thinking maybe somebody else might have a need for glass if you do hit me up. I'd definetly be into trading speciality made products for frags or what not.
Ever wanted a 2' long eye dropper out of labratory grade glass?? No problem... Need stirrers?? Maybe you want an overflow tube out of glass?? Let me know.

One caveat.... For tank safety everything must be done out of clear. Colorants in glass can contain copper, chromiam etc etc.

Last edited:

Stacef

Big Jay I would LOVE to see some pics. I have plenty of corals I could frag if anything strikes me. Thanks for sharing your talent!

BigJay

yup. I am in my office right now so look for pics around 5 pm. I'll bust out a really long eye dropper too since I figured some of you guys with huge tanks would be of real interest in that for spot feeding corals.
Nice thing about lab grade pyrex is , its extremely heat and chemical resistant.. its not to be confused with cookware pyrex which in itself is durable its not as much so as lab grade.

Last edited:

BigJay

For the time being I'll show you part of my studio... You can see some of the larger pyrex tubes between the kiln and the torch..All the glass on the stand below the table on the right is the colored glass. Its so unfortunate we can't use it aquariums. I could completely encase it in clear but if it would ever develop a crack I am not sure what the chance for leakage would be.

DSC02852.jpg

BigJay