Search results

1. kare-bear

Thought I had QT's properly but....

Hello All, I have been reefing for about 7 years. I currently have a 1 year running 175 bow front built in reef. I have done QT on every fish and treated with Prazipro and Cupramine as a precaution. I coral dipped all frags. The only thing that I was not perfect on was adding crabs, snails...
  2. kare-bear

pricing for used stuff

I am getting ready to stock my aquarium. I was looking at local private sale items to get a deal. There is one ad. that is selling the tank contents in pieces. For 100 lbs of live rock at $6/lb and 100 lbs. of sand for $1/lb. He is selling everything in the tank first and then the equiptment...
  3. kare-bear

MegaFlow air intake elbow

Does anyone know where I can buy an air intake elbow for my megaflow overflow kit? I bought two kits and I'm missing one. Thanks
  4. kare-bear

quick easy question

In the sump what order should things go in. I have 2 used wet-dry sumps from a used tank that I'm using for my new set-up. I'm tying the two together and there are 4 chambers. Should the first be for the skimmer? Should the second and third be for the refugium and the fourth be for the return...
  5. kare-bear

Help with new set-up

I have been reading in the old posts and sticky's to find out how exactly to set-up my new tank. Is it 1 to 1 1/2 pound of rock per gallon? How much can be the cheaper base rock/how much live rock? What kind of sand is the best? What is cheap and still great? My tank is level and in the...
  6. kare-bear

Anemone advice

I have a beautiful healthy anemone in my 25 gallon. He has lived there for 1 year. I am getting ready to cycle my new 175 gallon. Eventually when the tank is ready I plan to move my existing corals and fish to the new tank. I have had a sand sifting star for 1 1/2 years but I read that they are...
  7. kare-bear

wavemaking decision