Search results

1. moze229

Bryopsis-Trying to not Give Up!

Man, I don't know what the heck that is. LOL I've never seen that before. I'm no algae expert, but I've had my go at bryopsis and I'm glad that's gone for you. Looks like something that a tang would go after though. We've all got algae of some kind or another. As long as it's not too...
  2. moze229

Best Nitrate reducer

Hello StirCrayzy, Live rock actually harbors MOST of the beneficial bacteria needed to reduce nitrates in a system. (Unless you have a DSB) Adding more bacterial capacity will help reduce nitrate, not raise it. That's a good thing! :) Now if we are adding live rock that is not dead...
  3. moze229

Best Nitrate reducer

Don't start dosing stuff :) (carbon dosing - vodka) Take the conventional route for now. Carbon dosing introduces a whole other set of variables that will just complicate matters.
  4. moze229

I need another fish

Hey snid! Thanks for the recommendation. I'm actually not familiar with that fish. I'll have to look into it. Neat lookin' little feller. :) You're right. I should consider those who may not have experience taking things a little further than the norm. I tend to do that sometimes, but I...
  5. moze229

Best Nitrate reducer

This is also sound advice that I didn't think of.
  6. moze229

Best Nitrate reducer

The scrubber is not something that you need to get into right away anyway. Some people think that they are not worth the effort, or that they don't work at all. I HAD to have one because in my case, it was the only way that I could keep SPS in my smaller system. Otherwise, my phosphates are...
  7. moze229

I need another fish

Ahhhh … the sky is falling! :) Seriously though, I really appreciate the comments and advice on this matter. However, the title and purpose of this thread is to recommend fish. I did not ask for advice about my system. Realistically, I haven't given enough information for anyone to make...
  8. moze229