Wife and I are getting ready to take the plunge

mtamorrow

Hello all,

I am totally new to reefing. I have been reading, studying, and learning a lot over the past 2 months or so.

I think the most important things I have learned so far are (in no particular order):

1 - I need a lot of money to do this
2 - I need more patience than money to do this (or visa versa)
3 - I have learned a lot in 2 months but I still don't know anything
4 - reefing is a beautiful thing that will give me and my wife years of pleasure

So, I am leaning towards the Red Sea Max 250, or the Red Sea Reefer 250 to get started. I can see the benefits of the AIO as well as having the tank and sump and getting various other products / brands to round out the system

I am asking for, and more than happy to hear any advice from experience.

Thanks

Pat24601

I really can't speak knowledgable about tank choices, but I bought the RSM 250 to start and I love it. A great size and let's you be up,and running quickly with a quality system without really having to understand the pros and cons for all the different choices that are out there.

I'd highly recommend an ATO for it, but other than that you are good to go.

mtsully71

and a good plunge it is. I have not had the RSM 250, but I agree with Pat, not to big and not to small when you decide you should have gotten a bigger one. ATO is not essential, but definitely something to think about adding. It will help your skimmer maintain efficiency.

You hit it on the head, patience is your best friend in this hobby. Take your time, do scheduled tank maintenance and I believe you will be successful.

and :rbwwelc:

Sully

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
welcomefish.gif

to ReefSanctuary, a real Sanctuary of reef forums, with lots of very nice members

When you get a tank, start a tank thread & share your tank with us so we can follow along, we love pics :dance:

You will have success and the great members of RS will be here to help with any questions !

suspiria2