HELP! Help with setting up first saltwater tank

Ian64

Hi! I used to own two freshwater tanks, and I want to start my first saltwater tank in a 20gall aquarium. I want to start a FOWLR tank with a few fish (damsels, clowns) and maybe a sea star for maintenance.

Do I need to make my own RODI water? Or can I buy it from the store? Do I need a protein skimmer? And can I add corals later on? I am also wondering whether I should use InstantOcean sea salt or Instant Ocean Reef crystals. And when I fill the tank with NOT LIVE crushed coral, do I have to let it sit in RODI water or tap water? And when I wait for a month before putting fish in, do i have the filter on? Do I need a heater and a sump?

Sorry for all of the questions, but Im a noob to saltwater and none of the topics/guides/instructional youtube videos seem to help. Thank you!

I haven't bought anything yet..

Last edited:

Blue Space

Hello and welcome! Simplest advice I can give is before you buy anything, buy a good book on the subject and read it. That will give you a good foundation.

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
Some feedback ... see what others think ! :clownfish:

Do I need to make my own RODI water? or buy it... see link below...
Or can I buy it from the store? yes
Do I need a protein skimmer? highly recommended
And can I add corals later on? yes - just get "good" lights... that will support corals...
I am also wondering whether I should use InstantOcean sea salt or Instant Ocean Reef crystals. corals are fun & there are many "easy" ones you can have success with... with corals use reef cryctals
And when I fill the tank with NOT LIVE crushed coral, do I have to let it sit in RODI water or tap water? suggest a good aragonite sand, not crush coral, you can rinse the dry sand with some rodi

And when I wait for a month before putting fish in, do i have the filter on? you can it won't hurt, but not necessary

Do I need a heater and a sump? you may need a heater, sump is nice but not a must