TheSilverSurfer's RSM 130D

So after starting an initial thread, I decided to set up another one with a proper name, I mean how long can I be called "Another Newbie'.

This thread will list my journey from day 1 outlining all that I learn, which hopefully will provide a good source of info in the future for others who are starting up their own reef tank.

This thread will include a journey in both photos and details outlining and showcasing what I have learnt during this process.

I am also a web designer, (with a love for The Silver Surfer, hence the name), and will soon be uploading a website showcasing my RSM Reef tank journey.

So the journey begins:

Attachments

• tank1.jpg
    tank1.jpg
    40.9 KB · Views: 631
Day 1 - Day 4

Following the RSM guide I added the substrate, mixed the salt and the RO water and added the 'cured' live rock. After completing day 1 and day 4 tests the results are the same for both days except for Nitrate which has gone from 10 on day 1 to 20 on day 4. The other results are stable at: 25.5 degrees, 1.021 sal, 8.2 ph, 0.25 amm and 0.05 nitrite. (Calcium was 450 on day 1).

DAY 6

The diary continues ... As suggested by 'nanofeefing4fun' I added a piece of dead raw shrimp, (in a small glass bowl so it stays put). Have been advised to leave it in for 3 or 4 more days until it decomposes ...

Below are my day 6 test results, (similar to day 4 really):

26 degrees
1.024 salinity (increased this from 1.021 as suggested)
8.4 PH
0.25 Ammonia
0.05 Nitrite
20 Nitrate

Still no brown algae phase although reef base not as white as before. Expecting this to happen shortly.