QT/ hospital tank-lesson learned

Eck36

I guess I got cocky because I never had an issue with my 30g cube, but guess what, now I have learned a very important lesson. When people on this site think it's important enough to put it in their signature about a quarantine tank-do it! I spent $120 dollars this morning to by a 20g long, powerhead, test kit and copper medication because a fish I added to my tank had ich. That $120 is nothing compared what I am dealing with now. Black ice clown-gone, Picasso clown-gone and the powder blue tang? Gone. Never again. I don't really want a lecture, I know what I did, I just want others who are new to this hobby to understand what can happen when you think it can't happen to you. I am not an old pro like a lot of people on RS, and sometimes you just need to listen to those who have the experience. It will save you in the long run. That's all I have to say, now I am going to sit and look at my cube with water and rock in it for the next 5 or so weeks hoping that maybe I can enjoy the corals. They grow so slow.

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
So sorry to hear ! :( Thanks for sharing hopefully it will help someone save their fish, ich is a real bummer ! Follow the instructions by Lee Birch in our disease forum on the ich & you will be going again in a couple months, again sorry to hear you lost your beautiful fish ! Enjoy your corals and work on them & the time will go by faster - congrats on your new QT tank !

Pat24601

It does seriously suck to lose fish, but a couple months working on coral will go by faster than you think. I know your post is more about the disappointment and being down about that, but lots of us have had bad stuff happen and those that haven't will have later. It's how you bounce back (after you've come to terms with the blow) that matters.

Adrienne