Plywood Tank Build 300 Gallon

andy8383

Hi All,

After looking through a number of threads on people who have built plywood tanks, I've decided to jump in and give it a shot. I've started to build a 300 gallon plywood tank (8' long, 2.5' tall, 2' deep) with an overflow stretching across the back of the tank. I plan to fiberglass the entire tank and install 1/2" sapphire glass in the front. The tank will be part of a non-profit office redesign I'm spearheading.

I have some experience (used to have a 75 gallon saltwater tank in college), but I have been out of it for a number of years. I know I'm going to need a lot of advice along the way, so I hope more experienced forum users can help give me some direction.

A few quick questions...

- After looking at the various waterproofing options, I've decided to fiberglass the tank (inside and outside - might be a bit overbuilt, but I want this tank to last). I've just started researching the fiberglassing process and it doesn't sound too complicated, but I have zero experience in this. Has anyone fiberglassed a tank before? Any suggestions on type of resin/hardener or where to get them? Any other tips would be very appreciated!

Thanks Everyone!

ddelozier

PREMIUM
RS Ambassador
Welcome to RS, glad to have you. :thumbup: On the DYI project. Im big on DYI. The only thing i might add is that with the hight of the tank you describe, lighting will be a factor if you intend to keep Coral.

That said, There are TONS of experienced, helpful, friendly, and yes even a few BENT people here, who are happy to share their knowledge.
Speaking as one of the Bent ones, we're glad you joined us. WELCOME TO THE ADDICTION

dmatt88

Has been struck by the ban stick
Hey Willie u created another plywood lover! Welcome to rs. Matt

..........I live my life as a warning to others.

andy8383

Thanks for the welcome!