Picking your corals?

Jvo

Hey guys, I am really new to corals and liverock and was curious how I know what is going to be good for my tank. Is it determined by your fish? Your light?
Any recommendations of good choices to start with as a beginner and how to identify them? My LPS has a good few choices but most aren't labeled.

Pat24601

The other thing I learned in my first year is that almost any advice I got, including the links/references in this thread, which are awesome, is just that. Advice.

I've had "easy" corals that do terrible in my tank and "hard" ones that grow like weeds. I imagine it has something to do with my maintenance, lighting, etc. But, I think you'll learn for yourself what works as you go. Think of it as part of the fun.

Once again, I'm not saying the guides aren't useful, they are awesome. Mushrooms are almost always easier than acros, :). I'm just saying just because the guide says something is easy doesn't mean it will do well in your tank and the reverse with hard.

Also, feel free to pick some out and ask for opinions here. People love to share their experiences and it will give you a sense of what works.

Finally, try real hard not to buy what the LFS recommends on the spot without researching it. I've spent a lot of money on stuff that was virtually guaranteed to be a problem that way. Also, I learned that by and large my LFS stock at any point in time is the leftover stuff the more experienced hobbyist didn't want. At my store, you have to get there shortly after a new shipment to get the really cool stuff.

For whatever reason, torches, hammers, and frogspawn do really well in my tank and look awesome. The flowy nature is a really nice addition to a new tank. That would probably be way up there in terms of my reccomendation if you like them.

Last edited:

Pat24601

rostervandross