New and Inexperienced

Affair2824

Hi all,

My name is Joey, im a student with my own place and im looking to start my own Aquarium, taking care of animals and fish is nothing new to me. Ive had a 55 gallon fresh water tank in my home all my life alone with chinchillas, fire belly toads, turtles, horses you name it. I understand that having a salt water requires a lot more care and im ready to do so but i don't know much about it other then what ive read on line. I was hoping to get some insight from sucessfully Aquarium owners. my plan as of now is to purchase this 55 gallon kit: Marineland Instant Ocean Kit 55 Gallon

im not sure if that everything i would need to get started. any helpfully hits or taps would be greatly appreciated. thanks much.

Luukosian

Welcome to RS!

This hobby is fun and I don't think you will regret it. The setup you linked to seems like it would be good for a fish only tank. You just have to think about what you are going to want to keep(if you want to have coral ect.) and how much time/money you have available. I was a student once too so I know how time and money can seem like they are non-existent lol.

hint: you might be able to find a used set up that has more advanced features for cheaper on sites like craigslist or classified ads for the same price in your area.

Varga

Welcome to RS.

The only thing useful in that kit is the tank itself which you can actually get on Graig's list for $20-50 or even free. or you can get a reef ready set up with proper lighting off Graig's list for $200-400+ and that would be a much better start than the kit.

good luck

yungreefer2410

yea for reef only the tank is really useable. you have to to use ro/di water anyway. look on craiglist or ebay for one. if no luck then i would "build" your own system

DaveK

... my plan as of now is to purchase this 55 gallon kit: Marineland Instant Ocean Kit 55 Gallon