Long Tentacle Anemone

NjRiCaN

I have a purple long tentacle anemone that ive purchased online. It arrived in perfect condition and looked healthy. He has been in my tank for about 2 weeks but still has not attached to anything or buried himself in the substrate. i was wondering if this is normal or theres something wrong? i tried once to put him in the middle of my tank but he still fled to his little corner and is actually hiding under a ledge. Is my metal halide light to strong for him? is he still acclimating to his new surroundings? i have a 28g jbj nano cube with metal halide lighting and fine sand as substrate. water conditions are perfect. whats going on? ive also purchased 2 tomato clowns today but they havnt made "peace" (host) with the anemone yet. is this normal also? sorry for all the questions but im kinda new with the marine aquarium aspects. i purchased 3 books and done lots of homework before i got into the marine aquarium but still people's experiences are a lot better than any book. i will appreciate the feed back! thanks!

seafansar

Welcome to RS!

Tell us a little more about your tank. What wattage is the MH? How old is the tank? Is there good flow in the tank? Are there powerheads in the tank (aka nem blenders!)?

Anemones are a difficult animal to keep. Sounds like yours can't find a place it likes. They usually look for a spot with good lighting and flow. Some are weird and seem to shun the light for whatever reason and turn pale white, which is not good.

It can take a while for clownfish to host an anemone. Sometimes they never will, other times it takes a few days, weeks, months, and sometimes they host immediately. Really depends on the fish.