in_a_days' saltwater adventure

in_a_days

Hello forum! Well I do love to write and talk about fish and fish keeping. So I figure why not keep a journal of my daily tank-doings. God knows my girl has heard enough about my obsessive tinkering.

ANY AND ALL FEEDBACK, INPUT, AND CRITICISMS ARE HIGHLY ENCOURAGED AND APPRECIATED :wave:

I have been keeping freshwater fish for several years now. I've never had anything larger than a 20 gallon FW. But I've had a 20L planted tank established since I moved back to Vegas about two years ago. I used a Flourite substrate and supliment with Seachem Flourish. The tank is thick with greenery and requires almost no maintenance.

My cousin has been keeping fish for probably something like 10 years now. He used to breed FW angel fish and pretty much everything I know has come from him. Early in '07 he convinced me that I should give saltwater a try. In June of this year I bought a 56 Gallon Corner tank and stand from the LFS. I added three damsels the first week to start the cycling process. After about 3 weeks the ammonia and nitrite had dropped to zero. About a week after that I added a 10" Red Volitan Lion, the only fish I plan to keep. He proceeded to eat two of the Damsels. A single Blue Damsel has actually eluded him for something like six months now. So there are actually two fish in the tank... but the damsel is still food as far as I'm concerned.

Right now I have about a 3" bed of white sand, 20-30 lbs. of "dead" base rock, and about 10 lbs. of live rock. Right now I have a total of 143 watts of light on the tank; 1 - 65w 50/50 PC and 1 - 78w 50/50 T-5.