I am a newbie reefer.....

vion

Hi Everyone.

I am new to reef keeping.

Currently I have a 33 g, starting reef that has cycled with a couple of Damsils and CUC.

I JUST bought a 130D, woo hoo..... but sadly cant set it up till November d/t moving.

Can I use the same same, water, LR in the tank from my 33 or should I just start again and have 2 tanks?

Any thoughts?

jpsika08

First of all WELCOME :)

You can use the same water, LR and LS but you have to keep the 33g tank running until the moment you will transfer everything to the 130D, this will avoid dead organisms in the LR and avoid your tank to begin another cycle.

Anyhow, there are lots of real experts here and will gladly give you their advice

Hope to see pictures soon :thumbup:

imaccat

Hi and welcome to RS,

I had the same issue and got the RSM up and running and cycled with some new LR (as I needed extra anyway) and then gradually moved livestock
and the LR over to the new tank.

Good luck

vion

Another little question.

My old protein skimmer gave up the ghost and I am looking for a good, stable, skimmer.

What would others recommend regarding a skimmer? (up to $300 range).

Thanks in advance.

proenca

As far as I know, there is only two options if you want to upgrade your skimmer to a decent one in a RSM130 :

Tunze 9002
Euroreef ( thread here in Reef Sanctuary , from the vendor )

Euroreef seems to skim a LOT but has the drawback that you cannot close the lid and the skimmer cup will be seen. Second drawback is that if you live in europe, the pumps are not compatible and you have to buy recommend pumps and mod the skimmer yourself : a pain in the arse basically.

Tunze is silient and skimms decently, not as much as the euroreef but good nonetheless. Also with the special rack and cup, fits like a glove in the chamber and everything can be closed down like the stock RSM and wifes tend to like that if the tank is in the living room ( my own experience :) )