Hey Everyone! rsm 250 suggestions

Jason Gordon

I am new to reef sanctuary and relatively new to the hobby. I have a rsm 250 that I have set up and have made a few mods already from videos I have seen online. At the moment I am trying to find a new protein skimmer that will fit in the back. I know the Deltec mc 250 does but I have noticed it has been discontinued so unless I find a used one I will be stuck. Does anyone have any ideas for other skimmers that would work in the 250?

Mayja

Social Media Moderator
RS STAFF
Welcome to RS Jason! I know that the Red Sea peeps will help you out shortly.

melvis

I've just bought a Tunze DOC 9001 for my C130 but you might want to check out the 9004 as I think that might be better suited to the 250.

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
welcomefish.gif

to ReefSanctuary, a real Sanctuary of reef forums, with lots of very nice members

Start a tank thread & share your tank with us so we can follow along, we love pics :dance:

many have good luck with the stock skimmer ... water level & gate height is the key, if this helps

DianaKay

Princess Diana
RS STAFF
I changed skimmers when I added my LifeReef sump/fuge that sits in the cabinet below my tank. My stock skimmer honestly did as good a job as the LifeReef Skimmer is doing.
I can fully understand why everyone want a SUPER GREAT SKIMMER.
Just hard to find one that fits & lives up to expectations.
And it is very expensive to buy one to see if it's a good one. :confused:
I hope someone can help you out with this.
Here's a photo of my stock RSM 250 Skimmer in action:
image.jpg
It really did a good job but took some time to get it adjusted.

Jason Gordon