datahoe New Red Sea Max 650

datahoe

Hello All,

I'm new to this so please be easy with me. So I received my 650 a couple weeks ago and was finally able to get it put together. I want to first give a big thanks to Scott from Red Sea and Fish Tanks Direct for helping get my tank. Scott has been the best and I wouldn't be here writing if it wasn't for him. Now a little on my equipment (just the basics right now):

650 in white
Apex Controller w/ 2 EB8s(over kill maybe)
Netgear WNCE2001 gaming adapter to run Apex wirelessly
Milwaukee MA887 refractometer
110 lbs Red Sea Coral Pro Salt (Thanks to Scott from Red Sea!)
100lbs Marco Rocks Key Largo
25lbs live rock from LFS to seed marco rocks
120 lbs CaribSea Dry Aragonite Special Grade Reef Sand
Spectrapure RO/DI filter
Red Sea Reef Mature Pro Kit (Again Thanks to Scott)
Red Sea Reef Foundation Pro Test Kit(Yes Scott!)
Red Sea Algae Control Pro Kit (Yep...Scott again)
Ecotech MP40

Everything else is stock right now on the 650. So before the tank arrived I had to reinforce the floor joists so the floor would sustain the amount of weight of this BEAST of an aquarium. I sistered the floor joist and then for added security put two building columns up to distribute the weigh of the aquarium to the floor(I also used two 27 inch 4x6 to span two joists). I will post a pic when I can.

My tank has been running at 81 degrees during the day and the house has been set at 70 so I am SURE I will need a chiller. Looking to for something QUIET and cost effective (if there is a such thing in this hobby). Not sure how to post pics just yet. but will figure it out soon. This community has helped me a lot so far and I hope to continue to learn from each and every one of you.

Will post more information soon. Any recommendations on a chiller? Has anyone else had problems maintaining the 8 inches in the sump according to the red sea instructions? the ATO is working as i can see the drip.