Certified Master Electrician here to help!

Newjack

Some of you may know (but im sure most don't) I am a certified master electrician in 26 stated.

If you have any electrical problems or even just curious questions feel free to ask, even if its tank related or not!

BigAl07

Administrator
RS STAFF
Jack,

I'm building a new home and plan to have a dedicated circuit for me tank(s). I don't plan anything massive (prolly 180g max) but I want to make sure I have adequate service for the tank. What would you suggest? The footers were just poured yesterday so I have a few weeks before I have to worry about electrical stuff.

Thanks in advance,
Allen

DianaKay

Princess Diana
RS STAFF
:thumber: SUPER NICE OFFER NEWJACK!
I've been thinking "I better NOT get one more thing that has to be plugged in" :nono: :yup:

Newjack

I would suggest using a dedicated circuit for the tank. I would use 20amp rated (12 AWG) wire. WRGFI (Weather resistant GFI) receptacles on a standard 20 amp breaker. I would suggest using 2/12 MC cable (happy medium of safest and price) but if you want to save some money use ROMEX. If you want to use the best use EMC but is not usual for a house. If there is more than 6 things to plug in I would suggest doing a double DIN box so you can put 2 GFIs in. GFIs do not like a lot of devices plugged into one.

To add extra protection you can install a weather proof box with cover.

Newjack

:thumber: SUPER NICE OFFER NEWJACK!
I've been thinking "I better NOT get one more thing that has to be plugged in" :nono: :yup:

Ive mentioned this before in a thread lol. Overloading is a big issue with tanks. I have had so many warranty calls about how there tanks dedicated circuit stopped working. I go look and there's been a small electrical fire in the attic. I go look at the tank and its wayyy overloaded. I will ask "I thought you said just 4 devices not 12?" there first response is "I didn't want to pay for 20 amp wire and breakers."

Newjack