About to take plunge with Marine and Red Sea Max

Forbesey

Hi to all
Not used to posting well except a letter in a mailbox. I have been keeping livestock for a great number of years now all sorts and even reached the heady heights of being a judge. I then took up fish keeping which I have been doing for the past 10 years or so. I have kept all sorts and along with my son breed Guppies I know but they do have a certain charm. Now after boring you all I will get to the nitty gritty. After much research I have decided to have a go at Marine and have purchased an ex display Red Sea Max from my L.F.S. took me a while to work out what LFS meant not stupid but of mature years. You can imagine my delight when I stumbled across this site and the forum for RSM see I am even doing it now abbreviating I mean.
Rights I intend to keep everybody informed on my progress.If I can work out how to include pictures I will. First off all here are some questions to begin with.

The tank was emptied of water and left in the shop before I purchased it.
No rock was left in but the sand was still there.
It then stood in my garage for some time as I was to busy to start.
When I opened the lid it smelt something awful
I managed to wet vac all the crud out of the bottom and it now smells off the sea or saltwater
I am nearly ready to go to the next stage but first I need to know the following
I would really like to clean it how do I go about that and what do I use
I have not even looked in the back as yet but I believe that it's still as it was in the shop all of the filter requirements still in place
Should I change all of them or just clean them or leave them but I am sure after this amount of time all the good stuff will be long gone.
The back of the tank has small crustations if that's what they are on the surface should I clean them off or leave