Wondering why?

siavashv

I have a new RSM 250 and love it. However, I have been reading all these threads that people have posted, including my own about different issues and I wonder... Why do we think RSM 250 is so awesome even though we end up replacing a lot of the components from what is stock? I mean, most of the super successful people in this club basically only use the stock lighting (and some not even that) and the glass tank. So why not get a tank and stock it with equipment that is better than what Red Sea sends it out with? I am new to the hobby and love my tank... One of the main reasons that I got the RSM 250 was because of it being all self contained and I am limited on space. But I just wanted to get others' perspective?

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
Lots modify thier tanks because they enjoy doing so & it's part of the fun of the hobby & they can make them even better than stock.

I run stock and love my RSM - plus I am not great at DIY projects :)

IMG_1639zzz.jpg

siavashv

Wow! Amazing looking tank! I know that this hobby is customizable and that is one thing that I love too... but then why not all custom items? wouldn't it be cheaper? I am in no way knocking people that buy them, I'm one of them. But I just wonder why? Dude your tank is ridiculous. Wow! you are seriously running everything stock? pumps, skimmer, no chiller?

Reefmack

NaClH2O Addicted
PREMIUM
Only a 130 here, but as with many 250 owners I was fed up with skimmer noise, heat from the big skimmer pumps that Red Sea uses, and erratic skimming, so that was the first thing to replace. After that I replaced everything else. Some owners like to tinker with things, others replace things out of necessity.

tnwillia