What Kelvin rating do you all use

Koda2007

Hi all, just wondering what Kelvin ratings you use on your reefs and are you happy with the result on your reef. If not what you like to go for. Are they MH/T5/PC or other. Also what do you kepp under your lighting ie softies, hards or a mixture.

I have 110 watts T5 Deltec Aquablue+ which gives 60% @ 6000k and 40% @ 22000k.
I also have 2x 150 watts @14000k

Thanks for any feedback.

Triggerjay

I run hamilton 14k MH, but I'm not the one to ask on spectrums, as this is my first attempt at MH.

Jason

Frankie

RS STAFF
I run250watt 12k reeflux bulbs now. I like them. The wattage and brand bulb will make a difference in the over all look and par.

Woodstock

The Wand Geek was here. ;)
RS STAFF
Reeflux 10k on electronic ballast are currently on my 24" reef; but if you want par, go XM 10k.

kathywithbirds

Interesting... what is it exactly you're looking for when going with 10K or 6500? (Let me hijack this thread here...)

Koda2007

Hi Kathyithbirds

I dont know if this is the anwer you were looking for.
My combination of lights as above, is to give my corals a broad spectrum of lighting. Many corals have different light requirements therefore hopefully with the different ratings of kelvins I am catering for all needs.
I think the concensus here in the UK is to use 14000k but I am not 100% happy with this and I am considering reducing kelvin to 10000k on my MH. Looking at various places the concensus in the US seems to be 10000k and judging by the colour of peoples corals over there, you seems to be doing it right.

AQTCJAK

RS Sponsor
Dang know I have to think,

Shop Shallow Reef 1x150 HQI 10,000K 2x65Watt PC Act
Shop Nano 2x18 Watt PC 10,000K & Act
Triggers Display 2x65Watt PC Act
Home 125 Soalris H4 400Watt 72" 20,000K LED
Home 24 1x70 HQI 12 LEDs
Home 175 Solaris G 250Watt 20,000K LED
Prop Tank 6x54 Watt t5 HO 4x10,000K & 2xAct

vdituri