What is it? How Do I Get Rid of It!?!?

I have an algae bloom, i dont know what it is, if it is bad or good No Idea! I am new to the hobby. I just added my liverock and then this happened! I added a clean up crew of 300 Nassarius Snails, and 200 Cerith Snails. They have been in there for almost a week, and havent even made a dent in the algae! I really dont want to have to take every rock out and scrub it, but if that is what i absolutely have to do then i guess i will have to do it! Can anyone help me with getting rid of this? I have attached a link to a picture of my problem! Thanks in advance for all of your help! It really is greatly appreciated!

AlgaeBloom.jpg

AlgaeBloom3.jpg

BobBursek

HAIR ALGAE!!! And snails do not eat it!!!!!!! I am sorry, I have lost my patience here, Does anyone read first then buy and do a tank?? Turn off lights, water changes with RO/DI water, and patiences, tank is cycling, Hair algae needs nitrates, phosphates and light to flourish.

BobBursek

JCE,
sorry for being so abrupt. Just time and now add no LS until algae is gone and you get your water params to correct levels. Which means Ammonia 0, nitrites 0, nitrates no more then 20ppm, phosphates 0. Mg 1300. Ca 380-400, Alk 9-11, Ph 7.9-8.2, temp 76-82F. You will need to get Mg up first or Ca will not get there or stay there. Since you have no corrals I hope you can cut way back on lighting and just run fluorescents, no need for MH, just will help the algae grow, water changes, water changes, with RO/DI water.

Hit the lights for 3 days and do a couple of big water change. Scrub it of the rocks with a tooth brush and remove it when you do a water change. Change your bulbs if their old. Feed one every 2 day. If you can add a sump with some cheato. Check your nitrates. Regular water changes every week to every other should keep it away.

DrHank