Ways to Remove Nitrates!!! Expert Opinions Please!

squidy

Ok, I came across this article as I started my daily SW research. As you can see I am new to the hobby and was hoping to get some opinions on the different products listed.

Although not normally a major problem for most fish, excess nitrate (NO3) in a reef aquarium can be very detrimental the health of corals and many other invertebrates. Aside from using a denitrator unit, a number of methods and materials can be utilized to absorb or convert nitrate to a harmless substance. Here are some nitrate absorbing products considered to be the best to help resolve high nitrate problems in saltwater aquarium and reef tank systems.

1. De-Nitrate by SeaChem
SeaChem, De-Nitrate removes nitrates, nitrites and ammonia. This product comes in loose form and must be contained in a mesh bag or in a filter chamber and placed in the water stream.

2. Purigen
Purigen is a synthetic adsorbent, not a mixture of ion exchangers or adsorbents, but a unique macro-porous synthetic polymer that removes soluble and insoluble impurities from water. Purigen removes proteins, nitrites and nitrates, ammonia, and a broad spectrum of organics. Purigen darkens progressively as it exhausts, and is easily renewed by treating with household bleach.

3. Poly-Filter Pad
With the Poly-Bio Filter Pad by Poly-Bio-Marine, Inc., water impurities like phosphate, nitrate, copper, silicate, and even ammonia are absorbed. The pads can be regenerated by simple rinsing in saltwater (saltwater use can be regenerated by the reverse, rinsing in freshwater). Simply roll or cut the pad to any shape, place it inside a canister filter or incorporate it into any type filtration system to easily remove troublesome elements in saltwater aquariums.

4. FilStar Nitra-Zorb