SPS in Oceanic 58 gallon w/hood - what type of lights?

thefuz

Hi all,

Picked up a used 58 Oceanic RR from a LFS and trying to figure out lighting. Pics of the current oak hood attached. I may have it modified by a carpenter to both raise it and carve out doors in the front. I'm planning on SPS but I'm still new to reefing so will definitely be taking it slow.

My question is - with SPS in mind, what should I consider for lighting in this hood? Going w/out a hood is not an option at this point (young & mischievous kids). I'll be adding fans to the top of the hood (120mm probably - got a few left over from a recent computer build) or possibly at the back opening and will have mesh over the water; not glass. I'd really like to avoid a chiller.

I'm guessing a full set of T5's is probably best for heat but will that be enough light? Also, I won't get shimmer with that - correct?

LED's still seem really new and not proven yet, but I imagine they may be the most economical over time with bulb replacements and wattage. I've seen a lot of DIY threads but it seems quite complex. The units from suppliers on the net seem really overpriced though. I also was talking with a LFS guy and he said LED's might have an issue with a lack of red and/or UV light for certain corals.

MH/T5 combo or MH alone (with blue bulbs - another LFS reco) will be pretty bad on the heat aspect, no?

Anyway, help is much appreciated!!

58-oceanic-2.jpg

58-oceanic-3.jpg

58-oceanic-1.jpg

BigAl07

Administrator
RS STAFF
that's going to be a sweet tank!!

As for "what light" if you're heart set on SPS then yes you'll want to pack as much "Light" into that hood as possible. Lighting is a very personal thing and where some people LOVE nothign but MH some people HATE them.