RSM 130 stock skimmer question

Is there a switch on the pump or is it plug and play? I just got my entire tank ready and running and now that my tank has cycled, I tried running the skimmer and it won't work.

I know a lot of people are running the Tunze, is there anyone out there with a stock rsm 130 skimmer pump theyd be willing to sell me??

Monkeyboy

I'm pretty new to this hobby but changed a few things out of the 130. One of the best mods I did was the skimmer upgrade to the tunze 9002. It's alot quieter than the stock and produced skimate alot quicker aswell.

This is just my opinion.

Okay so i took apart the skimmer and somehow it started working.

Now my question is, i'm new to skimmer and everything so.. the collection cup is about 1/2 full with water and lots of bubbles are overflowing from the hole. What is the problem here? too much water?

David Shaw

Nope too much air. Too much air in the skimmer will make the skim mate produced watery.

Adjust air input screw on the skimmer slightly to reduce the air going in. Make very minor adjustments and then leave it for a while to settle in, then keep adjusting until you find the right spot. The skim mate must be thick and not watery.

It is a hell of a fiddle with the stock skimmer, noisy too.

Research the 9002 Tunze as an alternative once you see how you get on with the stock one.

Nope too much air. Too much air in the skimmer will make the skim mate produced watery.

Adjust air input screw on the skimmer slightly to reduce the air going in. Make very minor adjustments and then leave it for a while to settle in, then keep adjusting until you find the right spot. The skim mate must be thick and not watery.

It is a hell of a fiddle with the stock skimmer, noisy too.

Research the 9002 Tunze as an alternative once you see how you get on with the stock one.

Oooh okay. We're getting somewhere now.
Where is the air valve on the stock skimmer? Please tell me i dont have to pull the entire skimmer out. haha