Rose Bubble Tip not extending

Jim Olson

Hi folks,
I'm new to this and not sure about what I have going on. This Rose Tip has not extended at all since I put him in the tank. Been in tank for 5 wks. Eats fine on Silverside (mouth is closed) and seems to be growing but does not extend. Would a higher flow area be better for him?

75gal tank on started 8/11/17
BRS Pukani(70 lbs)
Caribsea Aragonite sand
Red Sea Coral Pro Salt
Octo1000 HOB skimmer
Aquaflow 110 with Chemi-pure Blueand Poly filter
2 Starfire led lights (with 3 channels)
RODI water

IMG_0715.jpg IMG_0719.jpg

DaveK

Anemones require well established tanks and excellent quality water to survive long term. In looking at this post and your first post, you have several issues that should be resolved.

Well established tanks usually means that they have been set up and running and stable water conditions for about a year. Your only about four months into this. Note the algae on the rocks around the anemone. This tends to indicate that your tank is not yet mature enough for an anemone.

Only time will correct this issue, so your best course of action would be to return the anemone and wait the additional time. However few people want to do this, so here are other areas that should be addressed.

Check your nitrate and phosphate levels. Anemones should should be in water where these readings are very low. If they are high use large partial water changes to reduce the levels.

The placement of the anemone is very close to the other anemone you have in there. This may be a problem. hopefully one of them will move. Often one can sting the other causing a problem.