Reef Crystals

LPS_Blasto

I just bought a bucket of Reef Crystals last weekend. I am hoping to get opinions on this brand from more experienced users.

I started out using Oceanic. Always had low alk and low pH. Switched to Red Sea Coral Pro. It was okay, but nothing to brag about. I bought the bucket of Reef Crystals because the LFS had a bucket for $55 and they are about 1 mile from my house. So far, I've done a 5g water change on my 50g system. I did notice a white or light gray powder in the bottom of the mixing bucket. Not too happy about that.

Please don't hammer me for bringing up a topic which many of you may have already discussed. I've searched RS and only found a few threads that even mention this brand. I don't visit RC at all, because I hate that site and the superior attitudes that come with it. I'm not a complete newbie. I have had my tank for about 3yrs. I'm just not all that involved in the "reefing scene" locally or on the internet, so I'm a little slow on all the newest info and discussion about stuff like salt.

I switched to Reef Crystals because I read an article that indicated it had the highest alk and mag numbers of the cheaper brands. I've always had low alk numbers and my mag could certainly stand to go up. I hate dosing and would rather just find a salt mix that delivers the correct numbers out of the bucket and then maintain a steady regiment of water changes to maintain those levels. I'm hoping Reef Crystals will deliver. I am pretty anal about changing water weekly. Usually 10% or 12% of the system volume.

Would appreciate any discussion you would care to offer about the salt. :wave:

steved13

PREMIUM
I have been using Reef Crystals for a while now, it's the premix my LFS uses. Works well for me so far.

I have never seen anyone get "hammered" here at Reef Sanctuary, I'm pretty sure it's not even allowed.

The only thing you might get "hammered" about is worrying about being hammered LOL

TylerHaworth