Red Sea E 260

rmcfish

Hi everybody, I'm new to the hobby. I've been talking with my LFS about various tank setups and I'm thinking the E 260 would be a good way to start. Do you all have any recommendations? I'm wanting something more the 50 gallons and less than 100. Thanks!

DaveK

Most important is what do you plan to keep in the tank? Figure that out first, before you consider any equipment. You don't need a complete stocking list, but you should have some specific goals in mind.

I have posted this before, it's the best advice I can give someone new to the hobby,

DaveK's Standard Lecture #1 – Advice for people new to the hobby

The very first thing you want to do, before you spend any money on equipment or livestock, is get yourself a few good books on state of the art reef systems. Then read and study them, so you have some idea about what your are doing.

Here are two to start with -

The Conscientious Marine Aquarist by Robert Fenner
The New Marine Aquarium by Michael Paleta <---This book has an especially good section on fish suited to someone starting off in the hobby.

A note on the books. You can often find used copies at much lower prices at places like Amazon. In most cases these are going to be as good as new copies, especially when your first learning.

This is information that you can not easily obtain from the net. While it's out there, it's all over the place, and there is a massive volume of information. There is also a lot of bad information out there.

Once you get that done, plan or rethink your system. What do you want to keep? Do you have the necessary equipment? Do you have the knowledge to keep the livestock you want? Do you have the time to dedicate to keeping a system and it's livestock?

Many salt water fish, corals and inverts often have very specific requirements. Some are extremely difficult to keep alive, even if you do everything right. Before you get anything, research it, and be sure it will work out in your system.