Purple stuff growing in my tank

Fredlee291

Hi everyone I'm new to the hobby I have a 14 gallon saltwater bio cube with a purple algae growth can anyone help me with this I don't know if it's good for my fish what should I do it is eventually going to be a reef tank

Pat24601

Hi everyone I'm new to the hobby I have a 14 gallon saltwater bio cube with a purple algae growth can anyone help me with this I don't know if it's good for my fish what should I do it is eventually going to be a reef tank

Hi!

Others here have a lot more experience than me, but it sounds like you are describing Cyanobacteria to me. A picture would help a lot. :)

If it is cyano, it's not such a big deal. Fairly common outbreak especially in newer tanks.

Basically some possible solutions include: increasing flow, small water changes, siphoning it out with your water changes. It may well go away on its own after that (mine always has) as your tank stabilizes, but you can also go lights out for a couple of days.

Not really dangerous to your fish and not really a big deal.

That is, of course, if it is cyano. Can you post a pic?

Fredlee291

Hi!

Others here have a lot more experience than me, but it sounds like you are describing Cyanobacteria to me. A picture would help a lot. :)

If it is cyano, it's not such a big deal. Fairly common outbreak especially in newer tanks.

Basically some possible solutions include: increasing flow, small water changes, siphoning it out with your water changes. It may well go away on its own after that (mine always has) as your tank stabilizes, but you can also go lights out for a couple of days.

Hi!

Yes I can thank you here it goes

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 37

Pat24601

Never mind what I said about cyano. I think that looks like coralline algae.

That's actually really good. People try hard to get that to grow. :)

At least, that's my take. Wait for more experienced hands to chime in and make sure I'm not missing something.