Poor Carpet on the wall

beasone

The carpet in my old tank seems to want to crawl out and is stuck to the wall now.. we have moved most of the live rock into the new tank; however, did not touch his spot.. still he has crawled up the wall and is half out of the water? Has anyone ever seen a carpet do that? Should I be concerned.. :dunno:

ReefLady

Staff member
I'm not an anemone expert, so this is mostly a bump. Can you give us a quick rundown on tank history, lighting, water parameters, and other inhabitants?

Woodstock

The Wand Geek was here. ;)
RS STAFF
Carpets and anemones in general will move if they are not happy. Low light, inadequate feedings, too strong or lack of water flow, etc. can get anemones doing a walk-about.
You possibly stirred up nasties when you removed rocks making the water quality less than acceptible for it?
Retest everything (salinity, alkalinity, calcium, magnesium, temp) and see if anything is 'off'.
Also, your bulbs may need replacing?

yungreefer2410

what kind of lights do you have how big is the tank how old is the tank wht color is the carpet does it look bleached out is its mouth open a lot have you been feeding it if so how much and how often?

beasone

We did move rocks, we are in the process of starting a new tank and dismantling this one. It is team effort and some parts of the team are not patient :evileye: I would not of removed so much of the rock...

I don't have numbers on the old tank, as we wait for the new tank to cycle.. it is being neglected a bit. there is only one live rock, a blood shrimp, cleaner shrimp, snails, brain, (what I call my blueberry tree) and the carpet.

He has had his mouth open a lot and I thought he might of moved because he wasn't getting enough food where he was, though I was dropper feeding him.

I am pretty sure he is not happy, I just hope he can make it another week till the new tank is good. (two weeks in) ....

thanks for your responses.. I am just hoping he hangs in there..

Reefmack