PH. and my /DI filter

rgfast

can anyone explain to me why I get a ph reading of 6.44 with /di filter and 7.98 if I bypass it. I've been chasing low ph for two months an this where it has lead me my test show alk. 9.5 dk cal 450 and mag 1350 but ph stays between 7.77 and 7.99 at end of light cycle. just made new bach of water without di filter an ph is 8.01, I have 600ft. well with really good water so don't freak on me

BLAKEJOHN

Are these readings of the freshwater from the output of the DI or are they after you mix the salt and let airerate for 24hrs.

If you're using a saltwater PH kit on freshwater I dont think it works well.

Also I wouldnt fret the PH much. As long as it is constant and all other params are normal and stable you shouldnt have any problems. I almost never check my PH unless I am raising my Alk and that is only to monitor the impact on PH.

DaveK

A pH of 6.44 right out of a RO/DI unit is about right. This is because RO/DI water has nothing in it. This makes it of very low ionic strength. This alone causes pH readings, especially when done with a meter to skew somewhat. In addition most meters used for SW systems are usually calibrated using buffers of 7.0 and 10.0, so being off a little bit here will also have an effect at the extreme ends of the calibrated area.

rgfast

the water I've been testing is the ro/di with out mix,I use Hanna ph montor cal. with pinpoint 7.0 I also check after mix and I mix my water after weekly water change 40gls per week 12%. My water change system is custom built arcylic 48"x24"x24" split one half is flow threw exc. the other half is mixxing tank it has ATO cir. pump and heater when needed due to the fact it nomally maintains same temp as tank water

rgfast