newbie to Marine life

Big Pete

Hi Guys

Big Pete here, i am a newbie when it comes to Marine, so hopefully you will all chip in when i ask the stupid questions of which i am sure i have loads.

i currently run a 25 gallon freshwater planted tank and its going great, i have always wanted to get into saltwater but kept getting told no its difficult and about 2 months ago i thought How hard can it be?
i have an RSM 250 cycled with 22 kg of live rock and the cleaning crew working their little socks off, i am on vacation in a few weeks time so i will wait until i return before i start filling it with fish and coral.

anyway good to say hello and get ready for the stupid questions.

cheers

Big Pete

Hi Pete

Like you I'm also new to saltwater after a long stretch in the fresh... although my salty adventure was began more through necessity than choice. Recently moved house and it was far easier to swap my 60 gallon fresh for a 34 gallon RSM with the guy moving into my old place.

I'm sure i'll be a worthy competitor on the daft question front :D

Big Pete

how are you finding saltwater? do you really think it is more difficult than fresh, do you have skimmer issues with the RSM, i don't have any bio load yet so its difficult for me to gauge but from reading the forums everybody seems to think its a bit of a nightmare.

Snid

Welcome Aboard, Matey!

P.S. If you have a CUC, you have a bio load. Everything that is alive in your tank has a bio load, including the small things living on the live rock. It may be small and your skimmer might not produce much gunk, but it is there. Which is a good thing... You need the bio load to host the beneficial bacteria.

Glad to see that you aren't rushing into things. Patience is the key to success. Get ready for a phase of the uglies, where you'll have various algae blooms and such. Just remind yourself that it is normal for the first several months.

jrose323