Newbie advice

Ashleigh Corrine

Good afternoon everyone!
I am a complete newbie when it comes to reef aquariums. I do have a turtle aquarium but that is the extent of my knowledge.
I have always been interested in owning a 'nemo' and 'dory' fish. I was just wondering what minimum tank size I would need to just have the two fish.
Any links to start up guides would be excellent as well, as I have absolutely no idea what I would need to purchase at this point in time.
Thank you!

DaveK

Before you get involved in this hobby, which can get out of sight expensive, You need to educate yourself. "nemo" which is a Ocellaris clown fish has a minimum tank requirement of about 30 gallons. Larger is better. "dory" which is known as a Hipo tang, or yellow tail blue tank has a minimum tank size of about 180 gal. This is not a fish I'd recommend to beginners because of the tank size requirements, and because they are not too easy to keep.

Here is about the best advice I can give to someone new to the hobby. I have posted this before but it's worth repeating -

DaveK's Standard Lecture #1 – Advice for people new to the hobby

The very first thing you want to do, before you spend any money on equipment or livestock, is get yourself a few good books on state of the art reef systems. Then read and study them, so you have some idea about what your are doing.

Here are two to start with -

The Conscientious Marine Aquarist by Robert Fenner
The New Marine Aquarium by Michael Paleta <---This book has an especially good section on fish suited to someone starting off in the hobby.

A note on the books. You can often find used copies at much lower prices at places like Amazon. In most cases these are going to be as good as new copies, especially when your first learning.

This is information that you can not easily obtain from the net. While it's out there, it's all over the place, and there is a massive volume of information. There is also a lot of bad information out there.