New to Reefing, starting with Nano Reef

Lochinvar

Hi guys,
I am a complete newbie to reefing, read a lot about the hobby and finally decided to give it a go. The adventure begins.
Before I will get a good size tank (i have my eye on 425xl Red Sea Reefer) , I would like to learn some basics about reefing with try / error so I will start with 15g nano reef which will be later used as quarantine or hospital tank. I would imagine i will make tonnes of mistakes so thought this will be a good start with smaller reef if something goes terribly wrong. Finger crossed with your kind help and guidance I will make it work.

So what I bought so far:

- Aqua Nano 55l tank ( came with Led lights, pump, wave maker, 55w heater)
- Red Sea Coral Pro salt
- extra Fluval CP2 circulation pump
- extra 50w heater
- Red Sea aragonite sand
- dry coral rock 12lbs
- Marine Test Kit
- something like bio spira
- Ro/di unit

Plan is to run this nano tank without skimmer just with bio filtration and water changes. There will be only couple clown fish plus maybe anither ? Fish, cleaning shrimp, and some sps corals.

Today i had the ro unit installed and after 3 hours of flushing it i am making some ro water.

I was playing with rocks to see how to stack them in such a small tank.

image.jpeg

Here is my first question. It is a dry rock but i can see some dead bits on it. I have read several threads how to cure rock, but here is the confusion:
Do I use ro water with red sea salt, pump and heater in a bucket or ro water no salt and only pump for circulation, lid on?

What is the proper way
Thanks for your help.

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
^ that is what I would do... and skip the bio spira, I would just add a raw deli shrimp (prawn) and let it rot.

Would love to see you start a tank thread & share your tank with us, we Love pics :dance: