New reef tank hobbyist, advice?

CGold4

Hey everyone. I'm new to the hobby of keeping aquariums. I was recently given a 30 gallon tank and have had it running for about two months now. I have crushed coral (which ive been told is a disaster, but havent had too much trouble yet), an undergravel filter (which Ive also been told isnt fun), about 20 lbs of live rock, a few dry rock, two powerheads, an anemone, 2 striped damsels, 1 blue damsel, and 2 striped chromis. Ive recently ordered and recieved an Hagen Glo T5HO lighting system. Even though my tank is 48' i ordered a 36' fixture with two 39w bulbs, actinic and daylight. I want to start adding more damels and maybe a clown or two. As well as some polyps or any other easy-care soft corals. All of my levels are ideal. I just need some advice from people who know better than myself.

dmatt88

Has been struck by the ban stick
Hey everyone. I'm new to the hobby of keeping aquariums. I was recently given a 30 gallon tank and have had it running for about two months now. I have crushed coral (which ive been told is a disaster, but havent had too much trouble yet), an undergravel filter (which Ive also been told isnt fun), about 20 lbs of live rock, a few dry rock, two powerheads, an anemone, 2 striped damsels, 1 blue damsel, and 2 striped chromis. Ive recently ordered and recieved an Hagen Glo T5HO lighting system. Even though my tank is 48' i ordered a 36' fixture with two 39w bulbs, actinic and daylight. I want to start adding more damels and maybe a clown or two. As well as some polyps or any other easy-care soft corals. All of my levels are ideal. I just need some advice from people who know better than myself.

OK. Avoid the damsels. Just mean fish. Good starter corals? Avoid gsp and anthellia. The pulsing xenia can b intrusive yet are easily peeled off a rock. Just add things one at a time n make sure u wanna look at them for awhile.

........... we cut living things into pieces. sheez

dmatt88