New 26 gallon tank! Hi!

linaalf

Hi everyone!

My name is Lina and I'm a yoga teacher, concert promoter and fish lover! We started up our 26 gallon tank (36 in long) about a week and a half ago and when we tested the water today it was ready!

We got two ocellaris clownfish and three hermit crabs in addition to the six pieces of live rock in our tank. At least I think they're both ocellaris. One is colored a little differently- it looks like someone spilled white paint on top of him but the rest of him is 'Nemo-looking', if you will. UPDATE: I figured it out! He's a DaVinci :)

How long do we wait until we get another fish? We forgot to ask at the LFS today.

Looking forward to chatting with you all!!

Steve L

I'd give it at least 4-6 weeks before adding another fish and only one at a time. You're new to the hobby and most people tend to over feed their fish early on, so if you can manage to keep feedings to a minimum and carefully watch your water parameters you should be ready in a month or so. You should probably wait at least 2-3 months before adding your any kind of corals, and if you are working toward a reef tank you probably don't want any more than 3 or 4 small fish in a tank your size, and I mean small when they are full grown not when you buy them. I realize you probably eventually want to get an anemone for your clownfish, but you need a mature tank with pristine water conditions, and I would wait a year before considering buying one if you want it to live very long.

Good luck Lina and have fun.

goma

RS STAFF
PREMIUM
Welcome to RS! Start a tank thread so we can follow your journey!! :swmfish:

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
welcomefish.gif

to ReefSanctuary, a real Sanctuary of reef forums, with lots of very nice members
745.gif

Start a tank thread & share your tank with us so we can follow along, we love pics :dance:

one fish a month (or a pair once) is a good add rate...

here a good :read: