need to nuke tank

blt93932

Hi everyone, I know it's my first time posting here, I am reaching out to a few forums to get the best advice. I have ben running aquariums for about 3 years now, I have a planted 20, a cichlid 110g, and a 90g saltwater. The saltwater tank started out ok, I added 4" of sand, a refugium, skimmer and wet/dry filter. I initially had about 8 fish and everyone did great for a year, then I added one more who hid and died, and since then it's all been down hill. One damsel survived the dearth of every other fish, I let him live alone for months, tested parameters, seemed good, restocked, great for 2 weeks then boom, one after the other they rapidly died. Blue damsel still lived! added a yellow damsel and watched for a few more months, blue damsel died during this time, (I think yellow got him) tested, everything ok, started to restock! Niger trigger, clown fish, chromis, clown trigger, bicolor angel and salifin tang. All smaller added in two groups 2 weeks apart. Everything did great for 2 weeks except bicolor angel who just hid then died. Then niger hid, clown trig and salifin covered in white spots, salifin looked blotchy. I moved them all to a quarantine tank and dosed with coppersafe yesterday. Triggers, tang, and yellow damsel dead this morning.

Since this is the third time this has happened, and almost the same way every time, I want to nuke the whole tank. Kill every possible living thing. It almost seems like I have some strange parasite/bacterial/fungal something living in there...whats the best way to do this? I also thjink I'll get rid of the deep sand bed too.

Tokalosh

Hi blt93932

Please could you provide us with some more info on your tank, i.e water parameters and so on?

Tok

Bearjohnson

PREMIUM
RS Ambassador
Welcome...

The information that you've provided is a good start to try and help you out however, there are still many unknowns in order to really get to the source.