Need some advise!

Thumper

Hi everyone. So I'm new to the hobby of saltwater but have kept freshwater for years. I have a 30gal saltwater tank that has been up and running for about 5mos. Live rock, sand, a few fish, cleaning crew, no coral yet (too soon but someday). Here are my problems: 1. I have a calcium precip and have done a couple water changes in the last couple weeks but every morning I wake to those darn white dots all over my rock and glass. So I scrap them off and it happens all over again. How do I get rid of this stuff?
2. Even with the precip which has been going on for a few weeks my levels are good and all inhabitants are fine but I recently bought an emerald crab...I swear the thing has killed and eaten two of my turbo snails and just tonight I caught him EATING MY BLENNY! I loved that little guy/girl! Do these crabs really eat this stuff? is he not getting enough food? Any help on either problem would be appreciated.

DianaKay

Princess Diana
RS STAFF
Hello Thumper :wave:
:rbwwelc:WELCOME to Reef Sanctuary :crowd:

I'm not sure what "little white dots" could be :ponder2:
Maybe you could post a picture of what you see so that we can actually see & ID it.
If you can catch & remove the crab that has gone rogue & return him to the LFS (local fish store) that might be your best line of defense. I'm not a crab fan either ;) Sorry for the loss of your Blenny. :(
Instead of just saying your levels are good...actual number reading are more helpful.
Start a tank thread & share some photos, would love to see your tank & fish! Hope we can figure out the "white dots". :snow:

pablomay28

Hello Thumper :wave:
:rbwwelc:WELCOME to Reef Sanctuary :crowd:

I'm not sure what "little white dots" could be :ponder2:
Maybe you could post a picture of what you see so that we can actually see & ID it.