Microbubbles in main tank. Please help!!!!

Mty1986

Hi guys I am new to saltwater. I set up my sump with where water goes into sump is the protein skimmer (euroreef100). I then have three baffle walls (7.5 inches, next 1 inch from bottom, last is 7.25 inches) they are spaced out 1.5 inches. Next is the refuge which is 7-8 inches from 7.25 inch wall to the last wall which is 7 inches. Then is my return pump section (quiet one 4000). I am getting microbubbles like crazy when I turn ball valve on return line all the way open. I have a eshop 1000 overflow which keeps up with pump. The sump is a 20 gallon long aquarium. I have two separate pvc coming from overflow. I need to get rid of these bubbles so I can run my pump all the way open so I can have a turnover of about 10x per hour. I have a 65 gallon display tank.

DaveK

What you need to do is to find the source of your micro bubbles. It could be from your skimmer or from your overflow. It is also possible for it to be from your pump.

Run you pump wide op and let it go for awhile. then look at your refugium section in the sump. If it's clear of micro bubbles, then the issue is with your pump. It's sucking in air at some point. If the refugium section has lots of micro bubbles in it, then the problem is in the skimmer or overflow.

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
welcomefish.gif

to ReefSanctuary, a real Sanctuary of reef forums, with lots of very nice members
745.gif

Start a new tank thread & share your tank with us so we can follow along - we love pics :)

DaveK

Since the bubbles are in the refugium, you need to trace it back further. It could be your skimmer. You also might be creating more flow than the bubble trap baffles can deal with. Properly installed and uses, they keep the micro bubbles out of the system. You can test that out too. Turn the skimmer off, and see if you still have bubbles. You may need to make some adjustments to that.

Mayja

Social Media Moderator
RS STAFF