Kenya tree won't stay put

AJK

Hi friends,
Ding dong me, pulled a mildly attached Kenya tree off a rock, now no matter where I place the Kenya tree, it falls over. I called lfs for some gel glue, was told to use rubber band to mount on small rock. She said gel glue won't work on soft corals, gave reasons. I watched youtube vids, people using super gel glue to mount corals, including Kenya tree. I'm confused.

I'm new to the hobby, so need easiest method to re-attach tree, I have no idea how to use rubberband on coral.

Help appreciated, pic diagrams, vids would be super helpful. Thanks.

mcentire1123

Nano-Reefer
PREMIUM
RS Ambassador
Get a toothpick stick it through the bottom of kenya tree then use the rubberband and attach it around the rock to the ends of the toothpick.

AJK

Hi friend,
Thanks :) Simple for you, difficult for me. What, Lol !!!! Sorry. What type of toothpick ? And how do I wrap rubberband around straight peg ?

Midnight

just get a basic wood tooth pick and stick it threw the base of the Kenya tree, then get a rock and hook a rubber band on each end of the tooth pick and around the rock.

AJK

Hi friends,
Okay, I get it now, duh, Lol !!! Insert toothpick sideway's. I'm a design Engineer and I was stumped, Lol !!! Thanks for everyone's help :)

AJK

Thanks Al, perfect illustration :) Next problem, I don't have any small pieces of rock. Oh gracious, what next, Lol !!!

AJK

Do you have any large particle sized aragonite sand and some super glue gel?

Hi Al,
Sure don't, but I have super glue gel. Sittin here, thinkin, thinkin, thinkin, Lol !! I have small rocks in my fw tanks. I found the perfect rock, I bought an assortment or rubberbands. I'll just have to figure out a way to camoflauge (sp?) rubberband. Dunno, maybe I'll wait and visit lfs tomorrow for frag rock. Thought about using, drill/hammer/chisel to break smallest rock into smaller pieces, also can use for future frags.

steved13

PREMIUM