is my anenome dying?

sianne01

hi there i am new to keeping saltwater fish i have had my tank up and running for 2 months now all water levels are good have shrimps crabs clown fish and a gold rimmed tang lots of soft corals and a sabae anenome african i think it has moved around the tank a bit but did settle in one part of the tank for just over a week my clown fish have taken to it very well but tonight when i came in i noticed it was spinning and turning round the tank only one part of the tank its mouth is open very wide and is very puffed out but the base is short and stumpy i have not seen it do this before and i am concerend about it is this normal ? can anyone help please

acemow

any pictures? also, posting exact chemistry numbers and params, lights, flow, etc? anything new in or out?

squidy

I have a bta and when I first bought him he pouted BIG time. I freaked out as he shriveled up and his mouth was open. After having him for almost 9 months now I have figured out that he does this when he poops. Sounds like yours maybe going thru some stress though. Do you have a qt up and running? I placed mine in a qt for several weeks while I upgraded my lighting as I thought that was the reason he was ill. I never really figured out what he was upset over but with a watchful eye and daily testing of my dt and the light upgrade, I finally placed him back in the tank and of course he pouted and moved around for a week or so. Once he calmed down and got situated he has displayed consistent behavior since. If you have a qt and choose to put him in there, remember to watch your water params close and test your dt to figure out what is upsetting him. What kind lighting do you have? Your tank is a bit new too so what are your parameters. Keep us posted.

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
:welcomera to reefsanctuary
745.gif