Help with bulkhead size for drilling a 40G Breeder. (Herbie)

Corey Akers

I'm new to reef tanks and I am a little confused about hole sizes. I've spent about 6 hours looking for answers, but I am still confused.

I'm setting up a 40 Gallon Breeder tank with a 20G sump. I'd like to do the herbie overflow and have two holes drilled behind an overflow box on one side of the tank, and the return on the other side of the tank. From what I have read, most people usually make the return smaller in diameter. Since I will probably only be using the drill bits for one tank, I'd like to only buy 1 drill bit.

So.. Could I drill all three holes to fit 1" bulkheads? Would this be enough drain or even work with herbie? Or should I drill all three holes to fit 1.5" bulkheads and use a reducer on the return.

Thanks!

I'm not too well versed on the herbie overflow. Looks pretty basic, just 2 100% capacity drains with offset suctions, I'd drill the three 1.5" and reduce if you really need to. Or just buy a cheap set of hole saws, I got some off ebay that should last few at least a dozen more cuts before I ditch them. If you drilled all holes at 1" you'd be reducing your overflow capability considerably. :wave:

Corey Akers

I'm not too well versed on the herbie overflow. Looks pretty basic, just 2 100% capacity drains with offset suctions, I'd drill the three 1.5" and reduce if you really need to. Or just buy a cheap set of hole saws, I got some off ebay that should last few at least a dozen more cuts before I ditch them. If you drilled all holes at 1" you'd be reducing your overflow capability considerably. :wave:

Thank you for your reply. That seems like the best solutions. I guess I was just thinking about it too much.

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
welcomefish.gif

to ReefSanctuary, a real Sanctuary of reef forums, with lots of very nice members
745.gif

Start a new tank thread & share your tank with us so we can follow along - we love pics :)

StirCrayzy