HELP Clownfish developed tiny black spots overnight

Hey guys I could use some help. I’ve had my clownfish for 3 weeks now and it’s been doing great and had no black spots. I woke up this morning and I found one small black spot on the front half of the fish and by evening I found two more small black spots.

The fish is acting normal, eating, swimming, and messing up the sand like normal.

I’m new to the reef hobby and I have no idea what the spots are I looked up black ich and it looks nothing like it. Does anyone have any ideas what it might be. I have no stinging corals in my tank.

DaveK

Do you have an anemone or any other livestock that can sting? Such black spots can be caused by stings from them. Note that while clowns do host in anemones, clowns are not always immune to these stings. Also some anemones and corals that do not normally host clowns sometimes can sting a clown. Also check for anything that might have come in as a hitchhiker. Be on the lookout for anything that might sting or things like crabs that might go after the clown.

Do you have an anemone or any other livestock that can sting? Such black spots can be caused by stings from them. Note that while clowns do host in anemones, clowns are not always immune to these stings. Also some anemones and corals that do not normally host clowns sometimes can sting a clown. Also check for anything that might have come in as a hitchhiker. Be on the lookout for anything that might sting or things like crabs that might go after the clown.

Based on what I know none of my corals sting but to be on the safe side I have 1 green birdsnest, 1 candy cane, 2 blastomussa, 3 zoanthids, and 1 micromussa lordhowensis. I have no anemones. I did have a small black and white stripped brittle starfish come in whith a coral but it stays in a little nook and never comes out and is less than two inches in diameter.