Has anyone used Nanocustoms?

JonnyF

Hello, I am new to saltwater, been on the site for sometime. Anyways, i got my 37 gallon all set up to the best of my abilities, and I have a 8 gallon Biocube FW setup. I was looking at getting a 12 gallon Nanocube from Nanocustoms.com.

I was thinking of getting this one: nanocustoms

Or this one: nanocustoms

^^ I like the second one better just because of the price :). On the second ones lighting i was thinking of getting first: 50/50 10000k/7100k, second: 10000k daylight, third: Actnic blue, in the hood refugium lights, r2 5 led moonlights, silenX 16db fans.

I was also going to add the optional 20000k ushio HQI and the refugium lighting (external).

First question: Is this a good site to order from, has anyone purchased from them before?

Second question: Is this tank with all the mods adequate for a reef tank?

Third question: I'm thinking of keeping some mushrooms, pom pom xenia, and some hammerspawn, possibly some other things. Do I even need these upgraded tanks, could i make do with an un-modded tank?

Thanks!!

Last edited:

FCatCH76

nanocustoms is a great place, I used their Biocube 144w upgrade. Great kit and great customer service. Your choice for tanks depends on what livestock you intend to keep.

HTH

JonnyF

I was thinking of pom pom xenia, mushrooms, and some hammerspawn possibly some other things, probably no hard coral though. Not 100% on that though. Of course some inverts, + LS + LR, and one or two fish.

chipmunkofdoom2

If you truly want hard corals, plan for the HQI upgrade. If not, I'd say just get the PCs. I think all of what you would want can survive under PCs, aside from the possible SPS of course.

JonnyF

Well actually after a long talk with my parents, I have the OK to get a little bit of a bigger tank then the 12 gallon nano cube, so I'm looking into some other types as we speak.

BigAl07

Administrator
RS STAFF