Getting back into reefing after a loooong time

Tstalcup

I've been lurking a bit and thinking of doing another reef. I had a 55 gallon reef a long time ago (like 9 years long time ago) but things happened, relationships ended and I ended up going to law school instead of doing IT. Having learned a lot from my old tank, and having a job, I've been thinking of doing another one. Sorry if my first post is long-winded, i'm an appeals lawyer and it takes me 2000 words to clear my throat.

My old tank ran ok. I had LPS, a couple tangs, some SPS frags that had started to plate a bit... until one day I woke up and it had been nuked...everything dead. This wasn't a gradual die-off, it was literally overnight. I'm not sure whether something got into the sand bed and hit a hydrogen sulfide pocket (didn't smell it if that was it), whether a tiger tail died and possibly nuked the tank, or whether gremlins simply dumped a gallon of cyanide in while I slept...everything sure was deceased. I tore down the tank and sold off the parts, gave parts away etc. Just didn't have the heart to handle the apocalypse and then life intervened and I never set up another one.

Now that I have the budget I'd like to do it again but properly.

This time my philosophy will be "plan instead of react" and "go slow."

Glass tank is a must. I know scratches in acrylic can be buffed out but its a constant thing and it only takes one snail to drag its shell wrong to make a nice 18" scratch across the front pane. I won't be going much bigger but I will be going in a different shape. a 55 gallon makes a moderately dreadful reef. 48 length is ok, and 18 high is ok but 12 front to back is no good. I found it very difficult to keep detritus out from behind the rock structure.