Dentoid's Reeforama

Dentoid

Smile Maker
PREMIUM
Thanks to the nice participants of this site I'm finally coming out of my shell (no pun intended) to start a chronical thread about my adventure in this hobby. Although I consider myself a beginner, technically I am not because I had a 55 gallon saltwater aquarium when I was teen (the 70's). I had relatively good success with my 55 gallon considering it had the old undergravel filter with the corner uplift tubes and no way of nutrient export but water changes. I grew up in Florida and was certified to SCUBA and would collect my own SW specimens, while my father was spear fishing. I would collect LR from the coastal waters to put in my tank. Not knowing that I was putting in a natural filter. I just found it easier to collect specimen by picking up the rocks and transporting them to my tank and was fascinated to see what came out of them. But the hobby has changed considerably in the last 30 years-thus I am a beginner. I have had a FW aquarium for the last 15 years however.

My adventure started when I began to pine for the Florida coast I remember as a child(after living in Virginia for 19 years) and remembering the joy, fascination, and awe I had of the ocean, the reefs and their inhabitants. So I broke down (in the best sense of these words since I know the reef bug is like a virus) and have immersed myself in this never ending quest to bring a little piece of the ocean inside my home and maintain it and nurture it like it is a fragile egg.