Basic and bullet proof DIY ATO?

Squatch XXL

I've always been a homebody, so ATO systems are just about totally useless. However I am planning a long weekend in the next month, and would like some sort of suggestions for an ATO.

I have done some research and would rather have first hand reports. I need totally mechanical, and turn my nose up at anything that uses electric. I am looking for something "modular" that I can get out when needed, and hide when I am back at home (99.99985% of the time).

The less chance of individual component failure, the better. Aside from that I don't plan on using more water in the container than can really screw up my system during a total failure.

I was honestly going to diy rig up a toilette float valve, but as a plumber I know how often they fail....let alone to have it sitting in salt water.....I don't think it would last more than a few months. I am not beyond drilling out a sump, but would prefer not to.

DaveK

In my opinion a mechanical only ATO can not ever come close to working for any length of time with out a failure. Period. This is because no mater what you do you have a single point of failure. You just can't get around it without electronics.

If you do insist on a mechanical only system, to keep things from getting totally out of hand, you need to limit your top off water to only a few gallons, but this has it's own problems. A reef can easily evaporate a few gallons a day. My own system can evaporate a bucket of water a day in the winter, or when the air is on a lot in the summer. Dry air in both cases.

Here is a typical float valve you could try. It would need to be mounted to the sump by drilling (offsite) - http://www.bulkreefsupply.com/reverse-osmosis-float-valve.html Note that I do not recommend this method.