A long frustrating night...

dank61

Okay… so I am new to aquariums. I have the RSM 250. last night I noticed that the 2 Damsel’s I had put in a day ago has white growth on its fins and tail. Sooo…. I freaked out, and decided to take the fish out of the tank. This is where it got “Fun”. I have about 70 pounds of rock in there (WAY too many hiding places). After about 20 minuets of trying to get them out :evileye: :evileye: :evileye: , I really wish I could use foul language.. in the end about an hour later, I had the fish out, along with all of my rock!!!!!
:flaming: :flaming: :flaming:
So my question is, in the future once the tank is established with coral and everything else, what would I do in the same situation?

Lesson learned… there is a reason for the quarantine process!!!

BigAl07

Administrator
RS STAFF
A) No more damsels LOL! They are terrible for this reason
B) Fish Trap.... everyone needs one
C) How old is the tank and how long has it been set-up and running?
D) How long have you HAD the fish (not just in the tank but had period).
E) Did you quarantine them from the time you bought them?

dank61

The tank has been running for a little over three weeks. Went through the cycles and has leveled out. I have 15 snails and 15 crabs... had 15 crabs 2 died through this ordeal. Had I watched some guy do this on t.v. and act the same way I did, I would have probably fell over laughing. Also having my wife saying she could do it better probably didn’t help my attitude either, but she seemed to have a good time watching!! I will definitely look into the fish trap!!! I wish I would have known…

The fish were new… I did not quarantine… now I know the importance.

BigAl07

Administrator
RS STAFF
Ok I think we may have "jumped the gun" on stocking the tank.

What are your test results last night or today?

chipmunkofdoom2