40g Breeder First SW Tank Setting up.

crystalnjohn

Hi everyone, This will be my first saltwater tank ever. I have had freshwater tanks in the past so I'm not a total newbie to aquariums. I have always loved the beauty of sw tanks, but don't have a lot of money to budget getting a bigger tank right now, and after talking with my local sw aquarium store I have decided that a 40g breeder will be good enough. (for now) [emoji12]

My plan at the moment is to "try" to do things right from the start and not be in a rush to get things set up. That is why I am here, for advice and to share with you all, my journey in reefing.

The only equipment I have at the moment is the tank. I found it at a DAV for $45 brought it home and filled it to check for leaks. It held over night so first step is complete.

uploadfromtaptalk1470939329011.jpg

Now my next step is a stand. I'm not sure if I will buy one or build one. Then on to all the other equipment which is where hopefully your advice will come in.
My goal for the tank is viewing pleasure so I will want to focus on rocks and coals.

Any input on equipment would be greatly appreciated. I can't afford the best there is so I'm looking for moderately priced, I'm not going to just buy the cheapest things possible because I don't want problems down the road. Like I said b4 I want to try to do things right and am willing to save up for the right equipment rather then get set up right away.

Sent from my Z820 using Tapatalk

DaveK

Some general comments...

As for stands, you can save money if you build one. Buying one is a lot less work and saves some time. If you do opt to build, make sure your knowledge and woodworking skills are up to the task. That 40 gal tank is going to weigh in at about 425 lbs by the time it's all set up.