Your LFS & You. A small business owners point of view.

livebait

I hope I don't step on toes or offend, that's not my intention at all. Just want put in my .02 on advice from the owner/employees at the LFS and why you shouldn't rely on that advice completely. Or my opinion of why you shouldn't anyhow.
Now the owner of my LFS is a decent guy. He has 20+ years exp. in the SW hobby and knows what he's talking about. He's never made an attempt to bs me or sell me anything, even when I was having problems with my lighting. A true friendship has grown in that he and I discussed the hobby while our wives talked wickless candles after supper last Saturday evening, so yeah, I trust him. His employees on the other hand have given me bunk advice on MI, gave me care advice on a coral that nearly killed it and are always trying to up sell me on something or another. I know for a fact that his employees are paid by the hour + commission on everything they sell.
So being a small business owner I can understand the "why they 'lie'" pretty easily.
As we all know it's a real bad economic time. But all excuses aside the big picture is the point of sale, the end dollar you bring into your pocket.
I have vendors come into my shop all the time with the new 'thing' in tackle and I buy quite a bit of what they have to offer. More or less quantity depending on my knowledge of the product. Sometimes what I buy doesn't sell very well for what ever reason. Do I take it off the rack and through it into the sale bin? Eventually I do but then I break even or take a loss and those two lines in the ledger don't put food in my childrens mouths or keep a roof over their head. I'm sure some of you will see me as immoral or dishonest but what I'm about to type is life in business.