Yep I'm A Newb!

hooked82

Well I recently picked up a saltwater tank, in which my original plans were to convert it to a saltwater tank for a largemouth bass tank(baby). I set it up after I purchased it to not kill what little semi live rock and fish that were in there to sell. But after having it setup and looking at some of the stuff you can do and fish you can keep I decided to keep it. I am now addicted and just can't wait to get the tank established.

I've done quite a bit of research as I have heard that is the most critical stage of owning a saltwater tank, but still need to do a lot more reading and have many questions. So heres a breakdown of my system and any input that you may have let me know.

Tank Specs:
75 Gallon Acrylic
48" x 18" x 20"
Built in overflow connecting to 15g sump(bio balls)
1 Rio 2500 running at 580 gph
1" Crushed Coral Substrate

Water Readings:
pH: 8.2
Ammonia: 0ppm
Nitrites: 0ppm
Nitrates: 10ppm
Temperature: 78 F
SG: 1.022 ~ 1.023

Inhabitants:
(6) Astrea Snails
(5) Scarlet Reef Hermit Crabs
(1) Dwarf Blue Leg Hermit Crab
(1) Coral Banded Shrimp
(1) Diamond Watchman Goby
(1) Yellowtail Blue Damsel
(1) 24" Snowflake Moray Eel(Will be gone tomorrow)

Future Plans:
75lbs. of LR(to go with my 30lbs that I have already)
Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmer(125 Gallon Version)
(2) 500GPH powerheads

Everybody seems to get along except the snowflake is now starting to act up at night and trying to eat? my goby so he is out of here. Plus cleaning up after him can be a pain.

I would love to hear your input about the protein skimmer. I have heard mostly good things about it and its still somewhat cheap($110), which is good because I dont have the hugest of budgets.

Other than that I am open for suggestions/comments and looking forward to spending some good time on this board. Its probably the best that I have came across and will now be one of the only boards that I visit for info/questions. Thanks guys.

David

billyr98